Indie Aritst Q&A with Daisy Harris

I had the pleasure in doing a Q&A with erotica/romance author Daisy Harris for the site 😀 check her out at http://www.thedaisyharris.com and http://www.twitter.com/thedaisyharris

Q: First question I want to ask you, what got you into the genre of
Romance/ Erotica ?

Daisy: I enjoyed erotica when I was in college, but never read much past a few books. Then, 15 years later I read Twilight on the recommendation of a friend. Soon after, I bought a used kindle off Craigslist and started reading young adult vampire books. From there I moved to urban fantasy, and finally paranormal romance.

I loved, loved, loved paranormal romance, and especially books that blended comic-book type themes and alternate worlds with lots of sex. So after a while, I decided to try it out for myself!

Q: Do you ever see yourself walking into different genres or are you
happy where you’re at?

Daisy: Before I started writing erotic romance, I always thought I’d write non-fiction books about science, like Mary Roach. I love blending humor and science. I could also see writing Urban Fantasy or Young Adult.

Q:  I saw this post on your blog “ Ten Things I Hate In Erotica” and
this made me laugh and smile “ Cock Worship “ I’m glad I’m not the
only who feels the same about this, but tell the readers what you mean
by this and why you dislike it?

Daisy: Some erotic stories contain elaborate descriptions of the hero’s package. Veins pulsate; caps weep; it grows to be the size of a dachshund- that sort of thing. Now, I know romance novel heroes are all supposed to be hung like a rhinoceros, but florid descriptions rub me the wrong way. It’s not that they’re incorrect, but as a woman, I don’t spend a whole lot of time thinking about what a man’s penis looks like.

I know some gay men are really into cock just for cock’s sake. But I think most straight women care more about the guy attached to the slong, and what he can do with it, than what it looks like.

But maybe that’s just me…

Q: A lot of writers today feel like they should be writing what the
market asks of them and not what they want to create, what’s your take
on this?

Daisy: That’s a tough call! I think if you’re an author looking to make money, you need to find a balance. I could never write a book just because it’s what sells. For example, right now cowboy stories are huge. But I’m a city girl and I’ve never seen the attraction. So a western romance written by me would come out sounding false.

However, male-male is very popular now as well, and I’ve decided to run with the trend in my work-in-progress. My stories often contain a strong element of characters coming to grips with their identity and accepting themselves. Male-male themes dovetail well with those issues.

I’d written a male-male subplot in one of my books even before I know the genre was popular. So I know I’m not writing just to the market. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t writing to the market a little.

Q: I remember being told by four or five writers on twitter, saying
creativity is dead and it’s all be done. As  a fellow artist, do you
agree with this or do you just shake your head and say “ no way.” ?

Daisy: Well, there are only so many plots and themes, and only so many character archetypes. However, each person brings his or her own spin to a story. I find it challenging to reign in my creativity and not include every wacky, out-of-left-field idea.

Growing up, English teacher always chided me for never accepting the standard explanation and having to write/argue the opposite of what’s expected at every turn.  So for me, the challenge is taking my creativity and harnessing it in a way that delights, rather than confuses.

Q: I’m not sure if you’ve joined a #write chat session on twitter, but
there is the occasional mud slinging from self-published and published
writers, editors and agents lol, each one calling the other a fraud
and the dying format if you will. But putting the mud slinging aside,
what’s your outlook on the self-published author and the published
author, should there be such bickering ?

Daisy: Ah, the large press, small press, self-pub debate! It’s a toughie.

The thing with being a writer is you’re always trying to convince readers to trust you. And it’s effin’ hard! You need a great product (aka book), but also to help people see that the book is worth their $7 and several hours of their time.

The challenge is the same whether a writer is with a big house or no house.

When the going gets tough, we turn on each other. Writers who’ve worked their butts off to get a book published with a New York house want to feel validated. And, to be honest, they deserve it, because it’s a long slog and they had to really hone their craft to get where they are. With self-pubbed authors, they may or may not have perfected their writing to that level. The hard part is that big publishing houses are suffering financially, as are writers who work with them, so it’s easy to turn the ire onto self-pubbed folks.

Personally, I like going through a publishing house. I prefer writing to publishing. However, the model is changing at the speed of light. It’s easy to understand how we all have vertigo.

Q: Switching gears,  what is the latest project you are working on?

Daisy: I’m working on a male-male paranormal romance, but I’m trying to keep it on the down-low for now. I will say that it’s funny, has a M/F/M subplot and a Viking gang on jet-skis. Oh, and there’s lot of sex.

Q: When do we get to hear a Daisy Harris pod cast?

Daisy: When Daisy Harris becomes ten years younger and figures out how to do it!

No, seriously- I should. But right now I’m focusing my efforts on getting my WIP written. I sorta kinda told my agent I could have it written by March 15th. So I need to keep my nose to the grindstone.

Q: This question is just for my own amusement, if you could write a
fan fiction erotica, who would you add to the mix?

Daisy: I never did the fanfic thing, never even read any, but hmmm…

It would probably be Hermione and the Weasley twins- aka my first ménage story!

Q: Any input you’d like to give an inspiring writer just like yourself?

Daisy: Learn your craft! I came to this with seven years of technical writing under my belt. So I’d taken grammar, style, composition, etc. I haven’t taken tons of creative writing classes, but did take Holly Lisle’s How to Revise Your Novel course. I use those notes every time I revise, and it makes all the difference.

Be open to criticism! Some people are going to get where you’re going, and others won’t. However, there’s no excuse not to get and utilize critiques and beta readers. I’ve found that if one person doesn’t understand a bit, others won’t understand either.

Oh, and drop all your adverbs. And 90% of your adjectives. And “was”. (Yeah, I’m a style stickler.)

Q: Daisy, it was a blast having you hear, and I’m quite smitten with
your artistic talent. Is there any last words you’d like leave the
readers ?

Daisy: I can’t remember who said these quotes, but they are my favorites:

-An author is just a writer who didn’t give up.

-Sometimes the line between success and failure is so close we can’t see it. Many a man has given up inches from the object of his desire without ever knowing.

Thanks for having me, Jesse! Happy writing!

—————————

Make sure to check out MERE TEMPTATION BY: DAISY HARRIS

at  http://www.amazon.com/Temptation-Shifters-Publishing-Classic-ebook/dp/B004EYSWTE

8 thoughts on “Indie Aritst Q&A with Daisy Harris

    • It was my pleasure, Daisy, you were great. 😀 You’re always welcomed on my site to talk about any new projects you have set up 🙂

  1. Great interview, Daisy! I loved Mere Temptation and am looking forward to a Viking gang on jet skis! lol

    I loved your blog post “Ten Things I Hate in Erotica” and hope readers of this post will go check it out. I’m now a regular visitor to your site and always look forward to seeing what you think up next.

    Thanks for the quality entertainment.

  2. That was a great interview, really made me smile. I totally agree with the cowboys in romance thing. That just doesn’t do it for me. I am so with Denise, looking forward to the Viking gang on jet skis. EPIC! This was fun to read, thank you 🙂

    • Thanks! See, the viking on jet ski concept to me seemed like, “Of course, how else would vikings travel?” My agent was the one who pointed out to me that the concept was funny.

      Honestly, I have no judgement about what is too left-field! 🙂

      Thanks for the comment and for coming by!

      • ” AND YOU ROCK JESSE, YOU”RE SOO COOL, When I grow up I want to be just like you ”

        Oh please stop 😉 LOL j/k 😉 Thanks for taking the time to comment. I just can’t wait for the Clown/vampire/robot erotica genre to take off.

Leave a Reply

