ARTIST RANT: Disney The Giant (BY: TANYA MARCY )

For one day this past week, it seemed the entire Internet was abuzz with, not Obama and Romney politics but Disney buying LucasFilm (a.k.a. the Star Wars franchise). I’m not gonna lie, at first I was kind of peeved. If Disney buys ONE MORE thing I love and turns it into something else, I swear…. But then, after seeing excited reactions from everyone else and really thinking about it myself, I realized that it could be one of the best moves in entertainment history.

I may not agree with everything that Disney does, but you’ve got to admit, Disney is a smart company. Back when Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network were churning out creator-driven cartoons, Disney revamped its TV animation and brought it up to date with the times. Disney bought FOX Family and turned it into ABC Family – a network that’s just begun to take off in the last couple years with some really stellar programming. Disney let PIXAR create the films they wanted to create and as a result, have released some of the best computer-generated animated films out there. Disney found gold when they partnered with Hayao Miyazaki and other popular anime properties to release titles in the U.S. I could go on and on.

It’s time for a new generation of storytellers. It’s the start of November and NaNoWriMo, and I see young writers – writers who are GOOD – actively taking the torch we’re passing on and running with it. Now, I’m not saying I’m done writing, far from it. But I used to worry that if one day I woke up with no more stories to tell (ha, yeah right), there would be no one coming up after me to take the reins. Now I know the truth. There will always be somebody.

Disney buying LucasFilm is a good thing. It doesn’t mean the classic stories we once loved will disappear; it just means it’s time for a new band of storytellers to step up to the plate. Even if it means we replace 20th Century FOX high beams with a Walt Disney castle before the lights go down.

 

Tanya Marcy is a writer and artist with a love for marketing, online media, and the independent arts. She blogs at stickTnotes, where you can find her story tips and tricks, and her ideas about being a creative artist in today’s changing world. Check out her own art at deviantART and sample her writing at Figment

Leave a Reply

