You Will Not Win

You tell me to keep my objections

Silent

Or I will fall

I can’t believe

What I saw today

Not sure I can see

Not sure I can understand

What is becoming law

Is this the end of it all

Is this how it will end

A bill

A law

That says

You will not win

If I close my eyes

And pretend it’s alright

Will it hold

Will it hold

But I fear these wrongs

Will not make things right

But what can I do

But what can I say

When the cities are burning

And here I am

Holding my words down

As the laws that are born

begin to kill

begin to destroy

Every man

Every woman

Tell me why?

When the racist

When the greed

When the blood

Has a home

And I stand in shame

Leave a Reply

