Batman: A DEATH IN THE FAMILY

A DEATH IN THE FAMILY

Written By: Jesse Abundis

PROLOGUE

pg 1

This city still needs me. It doesn’t care if I can’t handle the weight, they just want to know their demon is lurking out there to make things right. I don’t want to go back out there, knowing what happened to you. It was all my fault, if I kept you away, If I had been more careful you would still be here. Instead I put you in danger, sent you to die. Everyone says it wasn’t my fault, I couldn’t have known. But I did, I did.

It all started with Dick, I should of sent him away, find him a better place for him to live, my God he was just a boy. Instead I brought him into my war, turned him to a weapon. And when he couldn’t deal with the stress of it anymore, I threw him away. Laughed him out of the cave, told him he wasn’t fit to hold the mantel, just because the nights got harder for him to deal with. Now he’s God knows where, fighting his own war, because that’s all I taught him.

pg 2

You deserved a better life Jason. You both did. And now I have to carry that with me. I have to pay the price for my actions. I wish I could go back and change all this, make things right for you and Dick. I’m sorry.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

