Why I Love My Girlfriend

I do love my girlfriend. Just in case that title didn’t make it clear. But the reason I love her, is because she’s my best friend. She’s the one who saw me. She’s the one who got to know me. But she’s also the one who has fed me my literature. I will confess, I write a lot. I love writing, it’s my passion, it’s my crack. But I am not a big reader. Let that sink in, guy who writes and sells books, does not read a lot.


I was a big Tom Clancy fan, Star Wars reader. But nothing went beyond that. My girlfriend is different, she’s the bookworm. She reads, loves to read a lot of books at once. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t have read Childhood’s End. Which is a masterful book, written in a style I can respect. And now I’m diving into Fahrenheit 451. Maybe some of you have read that already, I can’t wait to read it. I just got to make the time for it.


But to have someone that injects something new into your life style, is a beautiful taste of nirvana. She’s showed me music I would have never listened to in my life. From Los Bunkers, Zoe (Latin Rock Bands) to even rapper Joe Budden, to dare I say it Rihanna. Not going to lie, that girl has some good songs, and apparently a perfume as well. My girlfriend ended it up buying it while I waited on the bench on the mall, watching Dallas get blown out 21-3 in the first half. But I digress. If it wasn’t for my Maria, my love. I shutter what my writing would have been.


I tell her this so many times, but not sure she believes it. But the moment I’ve been with her, I started to discover more about myself. I started to find new parts of me that weren’t there to begin with. Even my writing has gone deeper than I could of imagined, I sit back and read this new novel I’m writing, and think, this would have never happened if Maria wasn’t in my life. That’s why I love my Girlfriend, she’s the inspiration, she gave me a new drive.


We’re going five years strong, never regretting a single day about it.

Leave a Reply

